top of page

Thu, Jul 02



Deeper Lamrim (Buddhist Philosophy) Course | 10 weeks | ONLINE

ONLINE | Thursday | Prerequisite : Lamrim Intro Course

Registration is Closed
See other events
Deeper Lamrim (Buddhist Philosophy) Course | 10 weeks | ONLINE
Deeper Lamrim (Buddhist Philosophy) Course | 10 weeks | ONLINE

Time & Location

Jul 02, 2020, 7:00 p.m. – 9:00 p.m. EDT


About the event


Teacher : Buddhist Monk Tenzin Gawa (Jason Simard); some classes could be given by Tibetan Monk Lama Samten

Thursday evening, from July 2nd to Sept. 3rd (10 weeks)

Timings : 19:00 - 21:00

This will be the first time we give this course in English. This will be the first session (20 hours) of a total of 5 sessions (100 hours). So only the people who joined this first session will be able to continue for the whole course, that will lasts for at least 2 years, with breaks between sessions.


Lamrim (Tibetan for “the stages of the path to enlightenment”) originates from the teachings of Buddha Shakyamuni. In the eleventh century, the great Indian saint, Atisha, committed the teachings to writing in a very clear and well-structured text which is just as popular today as it was then. It is a precise, step-by-step explanation of the entire teaching of the Buddha. Later, the famous Tibetan pioneer, Tsongkhapa, provided a more detailed version.

Today, this text has become very popular because it allows Westerners to receive a teaching that is at once concise and complete. Due to its exceptional clarity, it is easily understood and therefore facilitates study and meditation for those wishing to attain enlightenment. Because of the hectic pace of modern life, holding down a job, and raising a family etc., unlike monks and nuns, it is almost impossible to undertake several years of  Dharma studies. For this reason, the Dalai Lama as well as the great masters prefer this text to any of the others. In our course therefore, we will be using Lama Samten’s book, The Essence of the Path to Enlightenment.


1.1 The excellence of the author so as to establish the noble origin of the teaching.

1.2 The excellence of the Dharma so as to develop confidence in the instructions.

1.3 How to listen and teach the Dharma.


2. The six preliminary preparations for practicing meditation, and the spiritual guide.

3. Precious human life: an extraordinary opportunity.

The stages of the path practiced by practitioners of the small scope:

4. Impermanence of all compounded phenomena, and precious human life.

5. Taking refuge in the Three Jewels: the gateway to freedom from suffering.

6. Karma: the law of cause and effect that governs every physical, verbal, and mental action (body, speech, and mind).

The stages of the path practiced by practitioners of the middle scope:

7. The Four Noble Truths: suffering, its origin, its end, and the path of liberation.

8. The twelve interdependent links that turn the wheel of Samsara (the cycle of existences). By reversing this process, we can free ourselves of this cycle.

The stages of the path practiced by practitioners of the great scope:

9. The benefits of Bodhichitta (spirit of enlightenment), the altruistic intention which is the source of every worldly happiness.

10.The method of the seven causes and effects in order to develop universal love, the ‘great compassion’ and Bodhichitta.

11. Geshe Tchekawa’s seven-point mind training that allows us to free ourselves of the ego.

12. The first four perfections: generosity, discipline, patience, and joyful perseverance.  

13. The fifth perfection: concentration.

14. The nine stages of calm-abiding, the result of concentration.

15. a) The sixth perfection: the wisdom of emptiness, and

      b) The uncommon vehicle: the Vajrayana.


FEE : 135$, plus 3$ transaction charge. You can also pay without fee by sending us a check at PARAMITA CENTRE, or make an e-transfer or pay cash.


  • Deeper Lamrim Study Thursd.7PM

    Sale ended



Share this event

bottom of page